Student Philosophy Luncheons

The Institute hosts lunchtime discussions on important texts in the history of political philosophy as well as on salient contemporary topics. A faculty member guides the conversation with all interested students. Lunch and any text will be provided for all students and faculty in attendance.


Upcoming Events


Past Events

WeTheInternet Discussion
Monday, October 24, 2016
12:30pm-2:00, The Endzone at Hillwood Commons

Trigger Warnings and Freedom of Speech on Campus
Monday, October 17, 2016
12:30pm-2:00, End Zone at Hillwood Commons

Trigger Warnings and Freedom of Speech on Campus
Wednesday, February 24, 2016
12:30pm-1:50, Hillwood Commons, Room 106

Karl Marx, The Communist Manifesto
Led by Dr. John Lutz
Thursday, April 9, 2015
12:30pm-1:50, Hillwood Commons, Room 106

John Milton (CONTINUED), Areopagitica, selections
Led by Dr. Shawn Welnak
Thursday, March 26, 2015
12:30pm-1:50, Hillwood Commons, Room 106

John Milton, Areopagitica, selections
Led by Dr. Louis Pisha
Thursday, February 26, 2015
12:30pm-1:50, Hillwood Commons, Room 106

John Stuart Mill, On Liberty
Led by Dr. Shawn Welnak
Wednesday, September, 18, 2013
12:30pm-1:30, Hillwood Commons, Room 106

Plato, The Menexenus
Led by Dr. Shawn Welnak
Thursday, April 25, 2013
5:00pm-7:00, Hillwood Commons, Room 106

Jean-Jacque Rousseau, Discourse on the Origin and Foundations of Inequality
Led by Dr. Glenn Alexander Magee
Thursday, April 11, 2013
5:00pm-7:00, Hillwood Commons, Room 106

Henry David Thoreau, On Civil Disobedience
Led by Dr. Lutz, Chairman of the LIU-Post English Department
Thursday, March 28, 2013
5:00pm-7:00, Hillwood Commons, Room 106

Thomas Hobbes Leviathan, chs. 13&17
Thursday, March 7, 2013
5:00pm-7:00, Hillwood Commons, Room 106

The Fiscal Cliff with Adam Smith & Karl Marx
Thursday, February 28, 2013
5:00pm-7:00, Hillwood Commons, Room 106

Immanuel Kant, An Answer to the Question: What is Enlightenment?
Thursday, February 14, 2013
5:00pm-7:00, Hillwood Commons, Room 106

HobbesBE